50% Tuition Surcharge
Effective Fall 2010, undergraduate students seeking a baccalaureate degree at UNC Charlotte will be subject to a 50% tuition surcharge as required by the North Carolina General Statute section 9.10.(b) § 116-143.7. Session Law 2009-451. No surcharge will be imposed on any student who exceeds the degree credit hour limits within the equivalent of four academic years of regular term enrollment, or within five years of regular term enrollment in a degree program officially designated by the Board of Governors as a five-year program.
An amendment to this law has been signed into law effective Fall 2013. Please see this document.
Counted Credit Hours
The undergraduate credit hours to be counted for this requirement include:
- All regular session degree-creditable courses taken at UNC Charlotte including repeated courses, failed courses, and those withdrawn after the end of the add/drop period; and
- All transfer credit hours accepted by UNC Charlotte from any of the UNC System institutions or North Carolina Community Colleges.
However, the following credit hours shall be excluded from the calculation:
- Those earned through the College Board's Advanced Placement (AP) and College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or similar programs;
- Those earned through institutional advanced placement, course validation, or any similar procedure for awarding course credit, and
- Those earned through the summer session or degree-credit extension division at UNC Charlotte or at any institution.
- Military science courses required to earn a military commission.
- Transfer credits from out-of-state or private institutions.
Students Subject to the Surcharge
The surcharge should be imposed on all counted credit hours in excess of the threshold defined below for each of the following three categories of undergraduates:
- For students earning a first baccalaureate degree in a program that requires no more than 128 credit hours, the surcharge shall be applied to all counted credit hours in excess of 140 hours.
- For students earning a first baccalaureate degree in a board-approved program that requires more than 128 counted credit hours, the surcharge shall be applied to all credit hours that exceed 110 percent of the credit hours required for the degree. Such programs include those that have been officially designated by the Board of Governors as five-year programs, and combined bachelor's/master's degrees.
- For students earning a baccalaureate degree other than their first, the surcharge shall be applied to all counted credit hours that exceed 110 percent of the minimum additional credit hours needed to earn the additional baccalaureate degree.
Tuition Surcharge Waiver Request Procedure
- Wait until you receive a bill with the tuition surcharge amount.
- Make sure you fit into one of 4 categories the General Assembly has created for which waivers may be considered for approval.
- Gather all supporting documents.
- Fill out the Tuition Waiver Review Form.
- Submit the forms and documents according to the directions on the form within 30 business days of having received the bill. All supporting documents must be submitted with the Tuition Surcharge Waiver/Review Request Form.
- You will be notified of the decision within 30 business days.
PLEASE NOTE: The Tuition Surcharge Waiver is interactive and requires Acrobat Reader (version 11) software. Click here for free Acrobat Reader (version 11) download.